The keynote will be delivered by Kimberly Keeton from HP Labs’ The Machine project.

Kimberly Keeton

HP Labs

Title: The Machine: An Architecture for Memory-centric Computing


By the end of the decade we expect over 30 billion intelligent devices connected to the Internet, resulting in unprecedented amounts of data. At the same time, scaling of today’s foundational memory technologies will significantly slow down. We will need to transform the ways in which we collect, process, store, and analyze that data. “The Machine” is a new architecture from HP Labs that brings together byte-addressable non-volatile memory, photonic interconnects, and specialized SoCs for computing at multiple scales, ranging from handhelds to rack-scale to data center-scale. As part of this initiative, we are building hardware, a new OS, new data stores, and new analytics platforms, with the plan to open source various parts of the software stack. This talk will discuss the technologies that comprise The Machine and their implications for systems software and application programs, as well as describe the work we are doing at HP to address some of these challenges.


Dr. Kimberly Keeton is a Principal Researcher at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories. Her recent research is in the areas of NVM-aware data stores, NoSQL databases, consistency models and information management. She has also worked in the areas of storage management, storage dependability, workload characterization and intelligent storage. Her work has led to 18 granted US patents and over 40 refereed publications, and has contributed to multiple products. She was a co-architect of the Express Query database, which provides metadata services for HP’s StoreAll archiving solution. Kim holds a Ph.D. and an M.S. in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley, and a B.S. in Computer Engineering and Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon University. She is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and a Senior Member of the IEEE, and has served as Technical Program Committee Chair for multiple USENIX, ACM, IEEE and IFIP sponsored conferences.